skip to Main Content
​Understanding The Executive Arm Of State Government, By Ebuka Onyekwelu

​Understanding the Executive Arm of State Government, by Ebuka Onyekwelu

The Executive arm of state government is made up of the governor and the deputy. Other members of the executive arm of the state government includes; Secretary to the State Government, Chief of Staff, Commissioners, Special Advisers, Heads of strategic government agencies, Senior Special Assistants, Special Assistants, Executive Assistants, etc.

Here is the hierachy:

Commissioners and Special Advisers are on the same level and enjoy the same benefits. The only difference being that while the Commissioner has a Ministry s/he is heading, a Special Adviser does not have a Ministry. Hence, Commissioners and Special Advisers are members of the State Executive Council and participate in the State Exco meetings, which is exclusive.


The position of Commissioner/ Special Adviser, is followed by Senior Special Assistant- SSA, then the Special Assistant, after which we have Executive Assistant. But while Commissioners and Special Advisers are members of the Executive Council, SSAs, Special Assistants and Executive Assistants, are not.
So when next we hear SA, let us note that Special Adviser and Special Assistant may have the same acronym-SA, but are not the same.

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by writers and shared on our blog, does not necessarily reflect that of Kaluza. We don’t necessarily agree with the views/opinion shared on our blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button